>Poisoned by Ivy

>

ITCHY!

Okay yeah, so all this yard work is really starting to pay off.  I’ve got my first case of really bad poison ivy.  Of course it is my own fault – I did have short sleeves on and I did suspect that there would be some residual poison ivy…

T and I both had it mildly last year.  He sprayed with round up and the plant is pretty dormant – no leaves yet – but yup alive and well. 

Thankfully I wore gloves!  I’ve got it bad on both forearms and one elbow and scattered patches elsewhere.  The itching is so bad that it wakes me up at night.  I went online to see if there was a cure.  I came up with a lot of conflicting information – the gist is to dry it out, but whether you do that with calamine or alcohol or saltwater or gasoline is debatable.  I even read something about rubbing a mango on it.  I haven’t tried that yet, but I am about that desperate…

So I went to visit my docotor.  I thought maybe she would give me a cortizone shot or prescription strength something to stop the itch.  She told me to use ice.  She also wanted to put me on a steroid called prednisone.  She then cautioned me that some of the side effects might be weight gain and depression.  If I felt puffy I could stop eating salt (!)…

I can’t help but being reminded of Jack’s “Would you rather” book …  Would you rather have skis for eyelids or buttocks made out of bologna?  Neither!  But after weighing my options I decided that I would rather be itchy than fat and crazy.  It’s been a week now and I am taking my nightly epsom salt baths, washing with Burts Bees Poison Ivy soap, slathering up with hydrocortizone and trying not to scratch…

2 Responses to >Poisoned by Ivy

  1. jeanette says:

    >Ian I love Zanfel!!!!! I spent the $42 on the tiny tube and it was worth every penny. The best part is you get to lather it into a paste and scrub it on the itchy stuff until it stops itching. Heaven. And then wash it all off. Between the Zanfel and IvyRest leave on stain-your-clothing lotion I was a new woman in about 24 hours – able to sleep at night and steroid free.It's been two weeks now and I still have marks, but they are fading…

Leave a Reply

